The Party

Perkie came home from school on Tuesday with his first ever party invite. I was so excited for him, thinking my little boy has as taste of “normal” life. So I asked the question “Do you want to go?” ,
“Yes”
he was quite sure he wanted to go. So I sent the reply back as the party was on Saturday.

Right we have 4 days to prepare for this party, I started off by showing him pictures of parties so he had some concept of what a party was. Saturday morning comes Perkie comes downstairs and says
“Mummy I don’t want to go to the party”.
Half of me wanted to say no don’t bother, but I knew deep down he wanted to go.

After lots of convincing we got to the party, it was a massive hall with all soft play equipment and the best bit was a pirate ship inflatable. Now mummy is quite a fan of “pirates of the Caribbean” so much so that the kids love everything pirates. Perkie thought the inflatable was great.

It wasn’t a normal party of playing party games etc as all the children were special needs or autistic. They all sang happy birthday using Mackaton it was so moving to see them all sign together. Another thing I noticed about this party was the mums didn’t try to compete. There was none of “My daughter/son has done this “. No it was sharing problems and giving suggestions to solve the problem. It was like we were all networking it was great. The thing I loved was that they knew exactly where I was coming from and helped as much as possible.

The best thing I loved was spending some quality 1:1 time with Perkie. In our house it is so difficult at times to get 5 minutes let alone 2 hours great. Now we have been invited to another party better get a diary my social calendar is taking off

12 responses to “The Party

  1. Oh I’m so pleased it went ok! I’m sure you were quite apprehensive before the party – so what a great result for you and Perkie- and of course another “first” off the list! 🙂

  2. shirley (redberries5)

    What a lovely party!

  3. Sounds like you guys had a wonderful time.x

  4. I am sure it was a relief to let your child just be himself and not have to worry about anyone staring or looking at him strangely. I’ve often said, only parents of these very special children know what it is like to raise one and other parents w/kids w/special needs can be our greatest support, source of information and comfort. What a great accomplishment for your boy – hope there are many parties in the future for both of you!

    • Thank-you for your comment and yes I totally agree with you that unless your a parent of these special angels , you don’t really have a clue. I’m so proud of him that he stuck it out.Even today he is talking about it shows what a hit it was.

  5. So glad it went well and a good time was had by all!

  6. So glad that he had a good time and you too – you needed that time even if it was just 2 hours! Glad you found some wonderful mummies to chat with!! Here’s to the next party! :O) xx

    • It was so nice to just to have some time with him, its something that we have missed a lot.

      Also it was good to be able to talk to someone who wasn’t going to sneer or put me down.

      Next party in 2 weeks xxx

Leave a Reply

