Perkie’s Gesture

This morning as I was getting Perkie ready for school, he was ok just his normal self. Then, all of a sudden he just flipped, I don’t know what caused it or triggered it. He suddenly went from a quiet laid back boy to a monster. He started shouting, refusing to anything, lashing out. I got caught in the crossfire and was hit in the face. He wouldn’t put his shoes on and was sat on the floor kicking out at us.

So I wrote in his homelink book what had happened , so they knew what to expect during the day. I knew if anywhere it would be at school he would calm down.
He came home and to be truthful I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as I have never really seen him have a meltdown as bad as this morning for a long time. The last bad one was when he decided he would sit in the middle of a busy main road, in the pouring rain. No-one helping me as I struggled with a pram and trying to pick him up. Anyway he came home and he was adamant that I have a look in his book bag.

The teachers had read the book and had sat and talked to him about his behaviour and that it was unacceptable and it had made mummy sad. That bit seemed to sink in, as after that he asked his teacher if he could write a letter. He actually wrote this himself

Here is what it said

Dear Mummy and Daddy

I am sorry that I was naughty, I give you a kiss and a hug

love

Perkie

How lovely was that such a kind and thoughtful gesture and it was even more special that he wrote it

11 responses to “Perkie’s Gesture

  1. Aww a big heart πŸ™‚ How lovely x

  2. Awwwww bless! That was really lovely of him, at least he realised, or was brought to realise, what he’d done.

  3. I wonder what triggered it?
    But good that he was able to talk about it and his letter is lovely 8)

  4. Aww bless!!! I think its easier for them to write their thoughts. Dan used to write notes and post them under my bedroom door! Sometimes they were angry notes and other times apologies! Either way I got to find out how he felt! You must have been so chuffed to get his note! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. Thats lovely that Dan writes your notes, least he was telling you his feelings a big break through.

      Oh it was a lump in the moment I’m going to try not to cry when I read it, lovely xxxx

  5. Awww! How sweet to get a note! FD leaves me notes on my pillow! She has a diary now where she can write down things that upset her. It’s hard when they flip but worth it when they learn to acknowledge their behaviour & even better if they apologise! It’s like a lottery win!!!

  6. Oh I remember those horrible meltdown days. But that letter was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

