Where Did It Go So Wrong?

I know you get the strength to cope with things but sometimes it does all get too much and it brings you down, well today is just one of those days.

I had to take Little Gnome who is 1 to the doctors as he was coughing and spluttering, his breathing sounded so awful. It all started yesterday he just had a slight cough and as the night progressed his breathing deteriorated. Why is this getting me down, well the fact that my child is ill. This is the third time since Christmas that he has had a chest infection, I was half expecting him to be admitted into hospital.

We got to the doctor’s and luckily it was my doctor who is lovely and so helpful. He listened to his chest and straight away he was put on a nebulizer for a good 10 minutes to open up his airways. Whilst he was on there, I told him I had not heard from the pediatrician about Gnome’s referral. Well straight away he tapped away on the computer to start chasing it up. The records hadn’t been updated to show Gnome has physiotherapy and occupational therapy once a fortnight, so that was going to be sorted today as well. Fingers crossed it won’t be long for the referral then we know exactly what we are dealing with and put wheels in motion to get the right support etc.

The outcome of the appointment was he has yet another chest infection, he has been given steroids, inhaler, anti biotic. If I have any concerns about his breathing or it sounds like this morning, I have to take him to hospital. This all stems when he had bronchitis when he was 4 months old and was in hospital a week, which was an awful time.

I’m sat here just watching Gnome as he is fast asleep with all the medication, wishing i could help him more ,so upset that he is ill again. I’m an emotional wreck but need to stay strong for the rest of the family.

15 responses to “Where Did It Go So Wrong?

  1. Oh sweetie, (((massive hugs))) it’s HARD, i know. My lil one is really unwell at the mo, so having to use his inhaler. Only problem is he screams and uses all his strength to try to push it away when i try to give him it. You are doing an amazing job with your little ones. Xxx

  2. Oh hun. Nothing “constructive” I can say…. just sorry Z is ill again and try and get some rest (easy said).

  3. Hey hun, just checking out your blog during my lunch hour. Sorry to hear yr wee one not well again. You are a super amazing mummy and Little Gnome is very lucky. It would be nice to have a stress free week. Hopefully things will pick up soon. Just remember that you have to look after you too. Sending hugs your way and let you know thinking of you as always.
    X

  4. I too have been there, but it will get better. Maxi’s chest condition gets better each adn every year. Have some choclate and a coffee

  5. I’m sorry to hear Little Gnomes back under the weather. I really hope this is his last infection for a very long time – his little body needs a break from being ill. Take care both of you! xxx

  6. Hi,
    I am a new follower and your blog is fab. I am a stepmother to a boy of nearly 9 who has aspergers. I know I am going to love reading your blog and will get so much out of it.
    Jo from Bouche in the City

    • Hello thank you for your comment and lovely to meet you.

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment and compliment, I look forward to talking to you. Please feel free to add any comments.

      Wendy x

  7. You’re not alone, you have us who are thinking of you and praying for you and your sweet little gnome. If you ever need a shoulder to cry on. Email me or whatever you need to do. I’m here for you if you need me.
    Hugs,
    Tracy

  8. amanda Sinclair

    How’s Zak been over the weekend?

  9. Hi Hope little Gnome is feeling better and the others are not ‘playing up’ too much. Weekends can vary so much can’t they?
    We miss you over the way (T2T).
    Louise xxx

    • Hi stranger how are you? . Thank you for your comment.

      Gnome was doing a lot better then yesterday he had some sort of seizure, it scared me .

      I miss you all just finding it difficult at the minute , send my love to all on T2T please xxx

  10. Of course … about to read on from here so hope there will be some good news in your posts.
    (((HUGS))))

Leave a Reply

