Out Of The Darkness

These last few months have been sheer hell for my family so much has gone on, kids been ill, hubby been ill, money worries you know all the general things of life.

Little Gnome is my major concern as we are sure what exactly is wrong with him and we still don’t know what we are dealing with. We had a trip to the doctor’s re his chest infection and the doctor put a referral for him to see the pediatrician as soon as possible, so a step in the right direction. Then today I had a phone call from the Occupational Therapist to say they have a chair for Gnome that he can use in the house to give him support so another step in the right direction.

I was at school picking Pinkie up and the teacher looked over at me and I just knew I had to talk to her. I just blurted out
“Can I have a word ”
I hadn’t meant to, it just happened,

“Do you know where I can get some support from ?” that was it I was in floods of tears, where did they come from I can normally keep it all together whilst I am out is it at home where I do my crying,ranting,screaming. Safely behind closed doors.

The teacher took Pinkie and Perkie off me said right come with me we will get this sorted. She made me a cuppa and we sat down.
Out of no where it all poured out what was wrong with me , how I couldn’t cope I needed help.

Well I was half expecting “pull yourself together, come on, stop being so silly “, but instead I received right let’s see what we can do for you. I was lead in the headmistress office and was congratulated for coming to them saying I needed support. I was absolutely astonished it was a rushed meeting as I needed to be home for Diva but even in that short space of time they gave me hope .

Tomorrow morning I am having a proper meeting with the headmistress, the teacher and the SENCO to see what support I can get. We are also setting up a regular meeting on a Tuesday afternoon so i can discuss any problems and concerns I have. Or I just want a natter over a cuppa. How good is that, maybe things have started to look up.

So even when you think you’re at your darkest hour, there is always someone (maybe someone you wouldn’t have expected ) there to listen and help you. Remember It’s always darkest before the dawn

14 responses to “Out Of The Darkness

  1. Awww, that had me in tears!!!!! So glad you spoke up and that they have listened to you!! Well done you! Very brave!

    • Hi Thank you for your comment.

      Where did it come from it so unlike me, I don’t just burst out crying. Obviously it was meant to be and now the next step of the meeting tomorrow morning xx

  2. That is wonderful news. Can you ask them if you can speak to your school’s Family Support Adviser. Aleyna’s school put me in touch with ours at the end of last year and she has been fabulous. Good luck tomorrow, let us know how it goes xxxxx

    • Thank you for your comment, it certainly shows how pro-active the school are. Yes I will ask them about the school’s family support advisor. I am so pleased it has helped you, thats lovely news and gives me hope thank you xxx

  3. What a turn-around. I’m so pleased and I know how much it means to you 🙂
    It sounds like they are on the ball so breaking down like you did just then was a good thing, (and well overdue I’m guessing).

    • Thank you I don’t why I broke down there was nothing to trigger it, yes been trying to keep it all together, this afternoon I lost it.

      Like you said it was for the best, as if it was meant to happen

  4. If anyone deserve’s some support it’s you and your family.

    So glad you spoke out and something is actually getting done and like you say, things are heading in the right direction with LG. I hope something comes of you asking for some extra support. Good luck and let us know how you get on xxx

  5. So pleased to hear that the school responded positively. Thank you for sharing this post – I’m sure it will help others in a similar position who read this. x

  6. I am so please to read about this,finally there is light in a very dark tunnel,i really hope you now get the help that you so urgently need.
    I so hope this is the start for you and your family to have a happy less stressful life.
    I wish you lots of luck and i a often think of you although i don’t always say it
    love
    gail x

  7. I suspect that without realising it that getting the chair for Little Gnome was the straw that broke the camel’s back.
    I think that we all need to sometimes own up when it is getting too much … although it can be difficult to do it can release a lot of emotional pressure. Pleased to hear that school seem to be acknowledging you need help and seem prepared to come forward with some ideas.

    • I think your probably right that the chair was the last straw, think it makes things more real now.

      Yes school is very pro-active which is nice, gives me hope xxx

  8. Very courageous to ask for help! I am pleased that the school are being proactive and supportive. Long may that last!

Leave a Reply

