Why I Started #Specialsaturday

As some of you will know as you see the #specialsaturday I have started a new way to try and raise awareness of special needs a cause very very close to me heart as a mum to 3 special needs children. As a result of this it has also opened up a new blog for me to host the posts of #specialsaturday the new blog is for special needs

Why did I start #specialsaturday, well there are several reasons the main was when this happened to my 4-year-old daughter who has special needs wasn’t invited to a birthday party you can read that post here >> Why are parents so hurtful this just didn’t happen once but twice in as many weeks talk about a devastated little girl. She was that upset she ran out of the front door down the street, luckily she stopped but with no concept of danger it could have been a very different story all over an invite , very sad isn’t it . Then there was this status I was sent on Facebook summed it all up nicely .

Next time you see a child ‘misbehaving’ or hear a child screaming please stop and think ‘could that child have special needs or sensory issues?’. Please spare a thought for the child who struggles to stay calm and regulated and for the parents who are constantly stared at, judged and criticized.

I had an incident in the summer that highlighted this

The best bit was there was a lady in a wheelchair you know what really got me that people moved for this lady because she was in the wheelchair. They came past us and Pinkie wouldn’t move out-of-the-way . This woman had the cheek to say ” can you move, can’t you see I am disabled ” . I thought what ………… I have my 4-year-old daughter here that is maybe just as disabled who can’t walk very far but because she looks normal nobody takes any notice. To them she is just a very naughty girl.

so many people are very quick to judge without knowing the full story. In everyday life we get this as well playgrounds are the worse areas I find for bigots and people being judgemental.

Do you realise how hurt and upset your actions make parents like me feel. I myself, feel like I am a second class citizen that is not worth people talking to. i stand in the playground wishing for the door to open so I can get away from all of you and back to security of my own home. I am not ashamed of my kids or their conditions because thats what makes them so unique. If you can’t handle that fact then that is your problem, not mine

So to try to stop parents and children going through all this which I have to say is not very nice and totally upsetting. I started #specialsaturday so it allows parents to show case the positive points of special needs and the achievements that these special angels can and do achieve. So come on and learn about special needs it might make a life time of difference to someone. Please support #specialsaturday if you don’t put a post up please use the hashtag -#specialsaturday on any of your tweets. Lets get people start talking about special needs.

5 responses to “Why I Started #Specialsaturday

  1. You speak from the heart Savvymum and I so relate to what you say. Will try and remember to #specialsaturday when I tweet. x

  2. Special Saturday not only raises awareness of how wonderful our children are but also helps connects us parents. Thanks so much. Hopefully collectively we can change peoples attitudes.
    x

  3. Pingback: Charity of the Month: For Special Needs

Leave a Reply

